Home / Compare / Hofstra University vs University at Buffalo

Hofstra University vs University at Buffalo

Hofstra University Law School · Hempstead, NY  |  University at Buffalo Law School · Buffalo, NY

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in New York — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

40.6%
Hofstra University acceptance
42.4%
University at Buffalo acceptance
$156,993
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureHofstra UniversityUniversity at BuffaloDifference
Acceptance rate40.56%42.37%−1.8
Median LSAT157157identical
Median GPA3.653.71−0
Annual tuition$73,344$26,430+46,914
3-year total cost$320,685$163,692+156,993
Median grant / year$35,793$7,500+28,293
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size263167+96
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.5%97.6%+0.9
Bar pass (1st time)79.2%88.5%−9.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to University at Buffalo's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureHofstra UniversityUniversity at BuffaloGap
Median grant / year$35,793$7,500+28,293in dollars
Annual tuition$73,344$26,430+46,914in dollars
3-year total cost$320,685$163,692+156,993in dollars
First-year class size263167+96

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Hofstra UniversityUniversity at Buffalo
Annual tuition$73,344$26,430
3-year total cost$320,685$163,692
Median grant / year$35,793$7,500
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureHofstra UniversityUniversity at Buffalo
First-time bar passage79.2%88.5%
Offer yield26.1%39.4%
Class fill98.5%97.6%
Students enrolled259163
First-year class size263167

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Hofstra UniversityUniversity at Buffalo
Admissions dataAll Hofstra University admissions dataAll University at Buffalo admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other University at Buffalo pairings, and other alternatives to Hofstra University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Hofstra University vs University at Buffalo?

Hofstra University admitted 40.56% of applicants while University at Buffalo admitted 42.37%.

Which is cheaper, Hofstra University or University at Buffalo?

Over three years, University at Buffalo costs $156,993 less. Hofstra University runs $320,685 and University at Buffalo runs $163,692, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Hofstra University or University at Buffalo?

Hofstra University reports a median grant of $35,793 per year for full-time students, compared with $7,500 at University at Buffalo. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Hofstra University Law School and University at Buffalo Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.