Home / Compare / Hofstra University vs New York Law School
Hofstra University vs New York Law School
Hofstra University Law School · Hempstead, NY | New York Law School · New York City, NY
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in New York — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | Hofstra University | New York Law School | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 40.56% | 39.67% | +0.9 |
| Median LSAT | 157 | 157 | identical |
| Median GPA | 3.65 | 3.63 | +0 |
| Annual tuition | $73,344 | $71,052 | +2,292 |
| 3-year total cost | $320,685 | $291,849 | +28,836 |
| Median grant / year | $35,793 | $40,000 | −4,207 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 263 | 409 | −146 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 98.5% | 97.8% | +0.7 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 79.2% | 86.5% | −7.3 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to New York Law School's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | Hofstra University | New York Law School | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| First-year class size | 263 | 409 | −146 |
| Median grant / year | $35,793 | $40,000 | −4,207in dollars |
| 3-year total cost | $320,685 | $291,849 | +28,836in dollars |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 79.2% | 86.5% | −7.3 |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | Hofstra University | New York Law School |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $73,344 | $71,052 |
| 3-year total cost | $320,685 | $291,849 |
| Median grant / year | $35,793 | $40,000 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | Hofstra University | New York Law School |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 79.2% | 86.5% |
| Offer yield | 26.1% | 24.5% |
| Class fill | 98.5% | 97.8% |
| Students enrolled | 259 | 400 |
| First-year class size | 263 | 409 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| Hofstra University | New York Law School | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All Hofstra University admissions data | All New York Law School admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other New York Law School pairings, and other alternatives to Hofstra University.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at Hofstra University vs New York Law School?
Hofstra University admitted 40.56% of applicants while New York Law School admitted 39.67%.
Which is cheaper, Hofstra University or New York Law School?
Over three years, New York Law School costs $28,836 less. Hofstra University runs $320,685 and New York Law School runs $291,849, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, Hofstra University or New York Law School?
Hofstra University reports a median grant of $35,793 per year for full-time students, compared with $40,000 at New York Law School. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Hofstra University Law School and New York Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.