Home / Compare / Georgia State University vs Mercer University

Georgia State University vs Mercer University

Georgia State University Law School · Atlanta, GA  |  Mercer University Law School · Macon, GA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Georgia — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

30.6%
Georgia State University acceptance
37.8%
Mercer University acceptance
$85,866
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureGeorgia State UniversityMercer UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate30.57%37.75%−7.2
Median LSAT160157+3
Median GPA3.643.62+0
Annual tuition$16,162$44,782−28,620
3-year total cost$119,247$205,113−85,866
Median grant / year$7,776$20,000−12,224
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size237152+85
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%100.0%identical
Bar pass (1st time)87.4%86.5%+0.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Mercer University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureGeorgia State UniversityMercer UniversityGap
Annual tuition$16,162$44,782−28,620in dollars
Median grant / year$7,776$20,000−12,224in dollars
First-year class size237152+85
3-year total cost$119,247$205,113−85,866in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Georgia State UniversityMercer University
Annual tuition$16,162$44,782
3-year total cost$119,247$205,113
Median grant / year$7,776$20,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureGeorgia State UniversityMercer University
First-time bar passage87.4%86.5%
Offer yield31.6%34.0%
Class fill100.0%100.0%
Students enrolled237152
First-year class size237152

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Georgia State UniversityMercer University
Admissions dataAll Georgia State University admissions dataAll Mercer University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Mercer University pairings, and other alternatives to Georgia State University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Georgia State University vs Mercer University?

Georgia State University admitted 30.57% of applicants while Mercer University admitted 37.75%.

Which is cheaper, Georgia State University or Mercer University?

Over three years, Georgia State University costs $85,866 less. Georgia State University runs $119,247 and Mercer University runs $205,113, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Georgia State University or Mercer University?

Georgia State University reports a median grant of $7,776 per year for full-time students, compared with $20,000 at Mercer University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Georgia State University Law School and Mercer University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.