Home / Compare / Emory University vs Georgia

Emory University vs Georgia

Emory University Law School · Atlanta, GA  |  University of Georgia Law School · Athens, GA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Georgia — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

30.1%
Emory University acceptance
12.7%
Georgia acceptance
$212,766
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureEmory UniversityGeorgiaDifference
Acceptance rate30.09%12.72%+17.4
Median LSAT166169−3
Median GPA3.823.92−0
Annual tuition$69,510$18,044+51,466
3-year total cost$328,386$115,620+212,766
Median grant / year$36,000$19,460+16,540
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size391186+205
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.5%100.0%−0.5
Bar pass (1st time)86.3%88.4%−2.0

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Georgia's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureEmory UniversityGeorgiaGap
Annual tuition$69,510$18,044+51,466in dollars
3-year total cost$328,386$115,620+212,766in dollars
Acceptance rate30.09%12.72%+17.4percentage points
First-year class size391186+205

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Emory UniversityGeorgia
Annual tuition$69,510$18,044
3-year total cost$328,386$115,620
Median grant / year$36,000$19,460
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureEmory UniversityGeorgia
First-time bar passage86.3%88.4%
Offer yield32.9%31.2%
Class fill99.5%100.0%
Students enrolled389186
First-year class size391186

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Emory UniversityGeorgia
Admissions dataAll Emory University admissions dataAll Georgia admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Georgia pairings, and other alternatives to Emory University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Emory University vs Georgia?

Emory University admitted 30.09% of applicants while Georgia admitted 12.72%.

Which is cheaper, Emory University or Georgia?

Over three years, Georgia costs $212,766 less. Emory University runs $328,386 and Georgia runs $115,620, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Emory University or Georgia?

Emory University reports a median grant of $36,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $19,460 at Georgia. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Emory University Law School and University of Georgia Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.