Home / Compare / Duke University vs North Carolina Central University

Duke University vs North Carolina Central University

Duke University Law School · Durham, NC  |  North Carolina Central University Law School · Durham, NC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Durham — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

12.9%
Duke University acceptance
n/a
North Carolina Central University acceptance
$181,389
3-year cost gap
20
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDuke UniversityNorth Carolina Central UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate12.88%not reported—
Median LSAT171151+20
Median GPA3.913.31+1
Annual tuition$80,100$13,444+66,656
3-year total cost$323,835$142,446+181,389
Median grant / year$35,000$12,982+22,018
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size227133+94
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.8%97.7%+0.1
Bar pass (1st time)98.2%59.4%+38.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to North Carolina Central University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDuke UniversityNorth Carolina Central UniversityGap
Annual tuition$80,100$13,444+66,656in dollars
Median grant / year$35,000$12,982+22,018in dollars
3-year total cost$323,835$142,446+181,389in dollars
First-year class size227133+94

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Duke UniversityNorth Carolina Central University
Annual tuition$80,100$13,444
3-year total cost$323,835$142,446
Median grant / year$35,000$12,982
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDuke UniversityNorth Carolina Central University
First-time bar passage98.2%59.4%
Offer yield27.6%not calculable
Class fill97.8%97.7%
Students enrolled222130
First-year class size227133

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Duke UniversityNorth Carolina Central University
Admissions dataAll Duke University admissions dataAll North Carolina Central University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other North Carolina Central University pairings, and other alternatives to Duke University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Duke University vs North Carolina Central University?

One of these schools does not report an acceptance rate in the 2025 ABA 509 disclosure.

Which is cheaper, Duke University or North Carolina Central University?

Over three years, North Carolina Central University costs $181,389 less. Duke University runs $323,835 and North Carolina Central University runs $142,446, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Duke University or North Carolina Central University?

Duke University reports a median grant of $35,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $12,982 at North Carolina Central University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Duke University Law School and North Carolina Central University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.