Home / Compare / Duke University vs Michigan

Duke University vs Michigan

Duke University Law School · Durham, NC  |  University of Michigan Law School · Ann Arbor, MI

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

12.9%
Duke University acceptance
8.6%
Michigan acceptance
$13,137
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDuke UniversityMichiganDifference
Acceptance rate12.88%8.57%+4.3
Median LSAT171171identical
Median GPA3.913.88+0
Annual tuition$80,100$76,108+3,992
3-year total cost$323,835$310,698+13,137
Median grant / year$35,000$32,000+3,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size227343−116
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.8%95.9%+1.9
Bar pass (1st time)98.2%94.2%+4.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Michigan's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDuke UniversityMichiganGap
Acceptance rate12.88%8.57%+4.3percentage points
First-year class size227343−116
Median grant / year$35,000$32,000+3,000in dollars
Annual tuition$80,100$76,108+3,992in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Duke UniversityMichigan
Annual tuition$80,100$76,108
3-year total cost$323,835$310,698
Median grant / year$35,000$32,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDuke UniversityMichigan
First-time bar passage98.2%94.2%
Offer yield27.6%42.7%
Class fill97.8%95.9%
Students enrolled222329
First-year class size227343

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Duke UniversityMichigan
Admissions dataAll Duke University admissions dataAll Michigan admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Michigan pairings, and other alternatives to Duke University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Duke University vs Michigan?

Duke University admitted 12.88% of applicants while Michigan admitted 8.57%.

Which is cheaper, Duke University or Michigan?

Over three years, Michigan costs $13,137 less. Duke University runs $323,835 and Michigan runs $310,698, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Duke University or Michigan?

Duke University reports a median grant of $35,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $32,000 at Michigan. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Duke University Law School and University of Michigan Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.