Home / Compare / Drake University vs Iowa

Drake University vs Iowa

Drake University Law School · Des Moines, IA  |  University of Iowa Law School · Iowa City, IA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Iowa — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

54.8%
Drake University acceptance
44.3%
Iowa acceptance
$42,927
3-year cost gap
8
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDrake UniversityIowaDifference
Acceptance rate54.82%44.28%+10.5
Median LSAT156164−8
Median GPA3.673.78−0
Annual tuition$50,920$30,944+19,976
3-year total cost$215,154$172,227+42,927
Median grant / year$31,000$30,043+957
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size141159−18
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%98.1%+1.9
Bar pass (1st time)77.2%91.4%−14.2

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Iowa's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDrake UniversityIowaGap
Annual tuition$50,920$30,944+19,976in dollars
3-year total cost$215,154$172,227+42,927in dollars
Acceptance rate54.82%44.28%+10.5percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)77.2%91.4%−14.2

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Drake UniversityIowa
Annual tuition$50,920$30,944
3-year total cost$215,154$172,227
Median grant / year$31,000$30,043
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDrake UniversityIowa
First-time bar passage77.2%91.4%
Offer yield32.6%28.2%
Class fill100.0%98.1%
Students enrolled141156
First-year class size141159

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Drake UniversityIowa
Admissions dataAll Drake University admissions dataAll Iowa admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Iowa pairings, and other alternatives to Drake University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Drake University vs Iowa?

Drake University admitted 54.82% of applicants while Iowa admitted 44.28%.

Which is cheaper, Drake University or Iowa?

Over three years, Iowa costs $42,927 less. Drake University runs $215,154 and Iowa runs $172,227, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Drake University or Iowa?

Drake University reports a median grant of $31,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,043 at Iowa. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Drake University Law School and University of Iowa Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.