Home / Compare / District of Columbia vs George Washington University, The

District of Columbia vs George Washington University, The

University of District of Columbia Law School · Washington, DC  |  George Washington University, The Law School · Washington, DC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Washington — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

37.0%
District of Columbia acceptance
27.2%
George Washington University, The acceptance
$159,561
3-year cost gap
17
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDistrict of ColumbiaGeorge Washington University, TheDifference
Acceptance rate36.98%27.21%+9.8
Median LSAT151168−17
Median GPA3.283.86−1
Annual tuition$12,438$75,420−62,982
3-year total cost$142,419$301,980−159,561
Median grant / year$8,292$28,000−19,708
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size83612−529
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill86.7%97.2%−10.5
Bar pass (1st time)57.9%87.7%−29.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to George Washington University, The's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDistrict of ColumbiaGeorge Washington University, TheGap
First-year class size83612−529
Annual tuition$12,438$75,420−62,982in dollars
Median grant / year$8,292$28,000−19,708in dollars
3-year total cost$142,419$301,980−159,561in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)District of ColumbiaGeorge Washington University, The
Annual tuition$12,438$75,420
3-year total cost$142,419$301,980
Median grant / year$8,292$28,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDistrict of ColumbiaGeorge Washington University, The
First-time bar passage57.9%87.7%
Offer yield26.0%22.5%
Class fill86.7%97.2%
Students enrolled72595
First-year class size83612

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

District of ColumbiaGeorge Washington University, The
Admissions dataAll District of Columbia admissions dataAll George Washington University, The admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other George Washington University, The pairings, and other alternatives to District of Columbia.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at District of Columbia vs George Washington University, The?

District of Columbia admitted 36.98% of applicants while George Washington University, The admitted 27.21%.

Which is cheaper, District of Columbia or George Washington University, The?

Over three years, District of Columbia costs $159,561 less. District of Columbia runs $142,419 and George Washington University, The runs $301,980, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, District of Columbia or George Washington University, The?

District of Columbia reports a median grant of $8,292 per year for full-time students, compared with $28,000 at George Washington University, The. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of District of Columbia Law School and George Washington University, The Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.