Home / Compare / Detroit Mercy vs Wayne State University

Detroit Mercy vs Wayne State University

University of Detroit Mercy Law School · Detroit, MI  |  Wayne State University Law School · Detroit, MI

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Detroit — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

41.4%
Detroit Mercy acceptance
24.8%
Wayne State University acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
8
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDetroit MercyWayne State UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate41.41%24.81%+16.6
Median LSAT156164−8
Median GPA3.523.89−0
Annual tuition$1,616/credit$38,861—
3-year total costnot reported$203,178—
Median grant / year$18,636$34,636−16,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size247129+118
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.6%99.2%+0.4
Bar pass (1st time)71.5%73.8%−2.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Wayne State University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDetroit MercyWayne State UniversityGap
First-year class size247129+118
Acceptance rate41.41%24.81%+16.6percentage points
Median grant / year$18,636$34,636−16,000in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)71.5%73.8%−2.3

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDetroit MercyWayne State University
First-time bar passage71.5%73.8%
Offer yield40.2%40.0%
Class fill99.6%99.2%
Students enrolled246128
First-year class size247129

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Detroit MercyWayne State University
Admissions dataAll Detroit Mercy admissions dataAll Wayne State University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Wayne State University pairings, and other alternatives to Detroit Mercy.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Detroit Mercy vs Wayne State University?

Detroit Mercy admitted 41.41% of applicants while Wayne State University admitted 24.81%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Detroit Mercy or Wayne State University?

Detroit Mercy reports a median grant of $18,636 per year for full-time students, compared with $34,636 at Wayne State University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Detroit Mercy Law School and Wayne State University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.