Home / Compare / DePaul University vs Northwestern University

DePaul University vs Northwestern University

DePaul University Law School · Chicago, IL  |  Northwestern University Law School · Chicago, IL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Chicago — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

34.8%
DePaul University acceptance
12.3%
Northwestern University acceptance
$72,345
3-year cost gap
15
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDePaul UniversityNorthwestern UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate34.81%12.30%+22.5
Median LSAT158173−15
Median GPA3.613.96−0
Annual tuition$55,328$79,772−24,444
3-year total cost$254,214$326,559−72,345
Median grant / year$34,950$40,000−5,050
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size186250−64
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.5%98.0%+1.5
Bar pass (1st time)83.8%91.8%−8.0

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Northwestern University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDePaul UniversityNorthwestern UniversityGap
Acceptance rate34.81%12.30%+22.5percentage points
Annual tuition$55,328$79,772−24,444in dollars
First-year class size186250−64
3-year total cost$254,214$326,559−72,345in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)DePaul UniversityNorthwestern University
Annual tuition$55,328$79,772
3-year total cost$254,214$326,559
Median grant / year$34,950$40,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDePaul UniversityNorthwestern University
First-time bar passage83.8%91.8%
Offer yield20.1%25.0%
Class fill99.5%98.0%
Students enrolled185245
First-year class size186250

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

DePaul UniversityNorthwestern University
Admissions dataAll DePaul University admissions dataAll Northwestern University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Northwestern University pairings, and other alternatives to DePaul University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at DePaul University vs Northwestern University?

DePaul University admitted 34.81% of applicants while Northwestern University admitted 12.30%.

Which is cheaper, DePaul University or Northwestern University?

Over three years, DePaul University costs $72,345 less. DePaul University runs $254,214 and Northwestern University runs $326,559, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, DePaul University or Northwestern University?

DePaul University reports a median grant of $34,950 per year for full-time students, compared with $40,000 at Northwestern University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for DePaul University Law School and Northwestern University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.