Home / Compare / DePaul University vs Loyola University-Chicago

DePaul University vs Loyola University-Chicago

DePaul University Law School · Chicago, IL  |  Loyola University-Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city · same state, similar selectivity in Chicago — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

34.8%
DePaul University acceptance
28.2%
Loyola University-Chicago acceptance
$22,758
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDePaul UniversityLoyola University-ChicagoDifference
Acceptance rate34.81%28.18%+6.6
Median LSAT158161−3
Median GPA3.613.7−0
Annual tuition$55,328$58,670−3,342
3-year total cost$254,214$276,972−22,758
Median grant / year$34,950$30,000+4,950
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size186296−110
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.5%98.3%+1.2
Bar pass (1st time)83.8%85.7%−1.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Loyola University-Chicago's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDePaul UniversityLoyola University-ChicagoGap
First-year class size186296−110
Acceptance rate34.81%28.18%+6.6percentage points
Median grant / year$34,950$30,000+4,950in dollars
3-year total cost$254,214$276,972−22,758in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)DePaul UniversityLoyola University-Chicago
Annual tuition$55,328$58,670
3-year total cost$254,214$276,972
Median grant / year$34,950$30,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDePaul UniversityLoyola University-Chicago
First-time bar passage83.8%85.7%
Offer yield20.1%24.3%
Class fill99.5%98.3%
Students enrolled185291
First-year class size186296

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

DePaul UniversityLoyola University-Chicago
Admissions dataAll DePaul University admissions dataAll Loyola University-Chicago admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Loyola University-Chicago pairings, and other alternatives to DePaul University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at DePaul University vs Loyola University-Chicago?

DePaul University admitted 34.81% of applicants while Loyola University-Chicago admitted 28.18%.

Which is cheaper, DePaul University or Loyola University-Chicago?

Over three years, DePaul University costs $22,758 less. DePaul University runs $254,214 and Loyola University-Chicago runs $276,972, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, DePaul University or Loyola University-Chicago?

DePaul University reports a median grant of $34,950 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,000 at Loyola University-Chicago. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for DePaul University Law School and Loyola University-Chicago Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.