Home / Compare / Columbia University vs Stanford University

Columbia University vs Stanford University

Columbia University Law School · New York City, NY  |  Stanford University Law School · Stanford, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

11.8%
Columbia University acceptance
6.1%
Stanford University acceptance
$28,446
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureColumbia UniversityStanford UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate11.84%6.10%+5.7
Median LSAT173173identical
Median GPA3.923.96−0
Annual tuition$85,368$77,454+7,914
3-year total cost$359,832$388,278−28,446
Median grant / year$32,000$52,797−20,797
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size444193+251
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill92.6%89.6%+2.9
Bar pass (1st time)94.7%99.4%−4.7

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Stanford University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureColumbia UniversityStanford UniversityGap
First-year class size444193+251
Acceptance rate11.84%6.10%+5.7percentage points
Median grant / year$32,000$52,797−20,797in dollars
Annual tuition$85,368$77,454+7,914in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Columbia UniversityStanford University
Annual tuition$85,368$77,454
3-year total cost$359,832$388,278
Median grant / year$32,000$52,797
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureColumbia UniversityStanford University
First-time bar passage94.7%99.4%
Offer yield36.7%51.3%
Class fill92.6%89.6%
Students enrolled411173
First-year class size444193

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Columbia UniversityStanford University
Admissions dataAll Columbia University admissions dataAll Stanford University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Stanford University pairings, and other alternatives to Columbia University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Columbia University vs Stanford University?

Columbia University admitted 11.84% of applicants while Stanford University admitted 6.10%.

Which is cheaper, Columbia University or Stanford University?

Over three years, Columbia University costs $28,446 less. Columbia University runs $359,832 and Stanford University runs $388,278, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Columbia University or Stanford University?

Columbia University reports a median grant of $32,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $52,797 at Stanford University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Columbia University Law School and Stanford University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.