Home / Compare / City University of New York (CUNY) vs St. John's University
City University of New York (CUNY) vs St. John's University
City University of New York (CUNY) Law School · New York City, NY | St. John's University Law School · New York City, NY
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in New York City — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | City University of New York (CUNY) | St. John's University | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 28.65% | 23.05% | +5.6 |
| Median LSAT | 155 | 164 | −9 |
| Median GPA | 3.54 | 3.81 | −0 |
| Annual tuition | $15,450 | $75,170 | −59,720 |
| 3-year total cost | $140,454 | $322,704 | −182,250 |
| Median grant / year | $8,000 | $60,000 | −52,000 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 219 | 241 | −22 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 95.9% | 98.8% | −2.9 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 69.0% | 87.5% | −18.5 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to St. John's University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | City University of New York (CUNY) | St. John's University | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median grant / year | $8,000 | $60,000 | −52,000in dollars |
| Annual tuition | $15,450 | $75,170 | −59,720in dollars |
| 3-year total cost | $140,454 | $322,704 | −182,250in dollars |
| Acceptance rate | 28.65% | 23.05% | +5.6percentage points |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | City University of New York (CUNY) | St. John's University |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $15,450 | $75,170 |
| 3-year total cost | $140,454 | $322,704 |
| Median grant / year | $8,000 | $60,000 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | City University of New York (CUNY) | St. John's University |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 69.0% | 87.5% |
| Offer yield | 31.9% | 23.4% |
| Class fill | 95.9% | 98.8% |
| Students enrolled | 210 | 238 |
| First-year class size | 219 | 241 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| City University of New York (CUNY) | St. John's University | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All City University of New York (CUNY) admissions data | All St. John's University admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other St. John's University pairings, and other alternatives to City University of New York (CUNY).
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at City University of New York (CUNY) vs St. John's University?
City University of New York (CUNY) admitted 28.65% of applicants while St. John's University admitted 23.05%.
Which is cheaper, City University of New York (CUNY) or St. John's University?
Over three years, City University of New York (CUNY) costs $182,250 less. City University of New York (CUNY) runs $140,454 and St. John's University runs $322,704, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, City University of New York (CUNY) or St. John's University?
City University of New York (CUNY) reports a median grant of $8,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $60,000 at St. John's University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for City University of New York (CUNY) Law School and St. John's University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.