Home / Compare / City University of New York (CUNY) vs New York University

City University of New York (CUNY) vs New York University

City University of New York (CUNY) Law School · New York City, NY  |  New York University Law School · New York City, NY

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in New York City — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

28.6%
City University of New York (CUNY) acceptance
13.4%
New York University acceptance
$229,470
3-year cost gap
17
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCity University of New York (CUNY)New York UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate28.65%13.39%+15.3
Median LSAT155172−17
Median GPA3.543.92−0
Annual tuition$15,450$83,952−68,502
3-year total cost$140,454$369,924−229,470
Median grant / year$8,000$20,000−12,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size219452−233
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill95.9%95.1%+0.8
Bar pass (1st time)69.0%96.9%−27.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to New York University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCity University of New York (CUNY)New York UniversityGap
Acceptance rate28.65%13.39%+15.3percentage points
Annual tuition$15,450$83,952−68,502in dollars
3-year total cost$140,454$369,924−229,470in dollars
Median grant / year$8,000$20,000−12,000in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)City University of New York (CUNY)New York University
Annual tuition$15,450$83,952
3-year total cost$140,454$369,924
Median grant / year$8,000$20,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCity University of New York (CUNY)New York University
First-time bar passage69.0%96.9%
Offer yield31.9%30.5%
Class fill95.9%95.1%
Students enrolled210430
First-year class size219452

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

City University of New York (CUNY)New York University
Admissions dataAll City University of New York (CUNY) admissions dataAll New York University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other New York University pairings, and other alternatives to City University of New York (CUNY).

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at City University of New York (CUNY) vs New York University?

City University of New York (CUNY) admitted 28.65% of applicants while New York University admitted 13.39%.

Which is cheaper, City University of New York (CUNY) or New York University?

Over three years, City University of New York (CUNY) costs $229,470 less. City University of New York (CUNY) runs $140,454 and New York University runs $369,924, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, City University of New York (CUNY) or New York University?

City University of New York (CUNY) reports a median grant of $8,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $20,000 at New York University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for City University of New York (CUNY) Law School and New York University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.