Home / Compare / City University of New York (CUNY) vs Columbia University

City University of New York (CUNY) vs Columbia University

City University of New York (CUNY) Law School · New York City, NY  |  Columbia University Law School · New York City, NY

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in New York City — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

28.6%
City University of New York (CUNY) acceptance
11.8%
Columbia University acceptance
$219,378
3-year cost gap
18
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCity University of New York (CUNY)Columbia UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate28.65%11.84%+16.8
Median LSAT155173−18
Median GPA3.543.92−0
Annual tuition$15,450$85,368−69,918
3-year total cost$140,454$359,832−219,378
Median grant / year$8,000$32,000−24,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size219444−225
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill95.9%92.6%+3.3
Bar pass (1st time)69.0%94.7%−25.7

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Columbia University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCity University of New York (CUNY)Columbia UniversityGap
Acceptance rate28.65%11.84%+16.8percentage points
Annual tuition$15,450$85,368−69,918in dollars
Median grant / year$8,000$32,000−24,000in dollars
3-year total cost$140,454$359,832−219,378in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)City University of New York (CUNY)Columbia University
Annual tuition$15,450$85,368
3-year total cost$140,454$359,832
Median grant / year$8,000$32,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCity University of New York (CUNY)Columbia University
First-time bar passage69.0%94.7%
Offer yield31.9%36.7%
Class fill95.9%92.6%
Students enrolled210411
First-year class size219444

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

City University of New York (CUNY)Columbia University
Admissions dataAll City University of New York (CUNY) admissions dataAll Columbia University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Columbia University pairings, and other alternatives to City University of New York (CUNY).

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at City University of New York (CUNY) vs Columbia University?

City University of New York (CUNY) admitted 28.65% of applicants while Columbia University admitted 11.84%.

Which is cheaper, City University of New York (CUNY) or Columbia University?

Over three years, City University of New York (CUNY) costs $219,378 less. City University of New York (CUNY) runs $140,454 and Columbia University runs $359,832, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, City University of New York (CUNY) or Columbia University?

City University of New York (CUNY) reports a median grant of $8,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $32,000 at Columbia University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for City University of New York (CUNY) Law School and Columbia University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.