Home / Compare / Chicago vs Pennsylvania

Chicago vs Pennsylvania

The University of Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL  |  University of Pennsylvania Law School · Philadelphia, PA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

9.7%
Chicago acceptance
8.1%
Pennsylvania acceptance
$12,576
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureChicagoPennsylvaniaDifference
Acceptance rate9.74%8.05%+1.7
Median LSAT174173+1
Median GPA3.973.95+0
Annual tuition$83,316$78,348+4,968
3-year total cost$360,972$348,396+12,576
Median grant / year$15,000$42,246−27,246
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size203265−62
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill94.1%95.8%−1.8
Bar pass (1st time)96.7%94.4%+2.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Pennsylvania's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureChicagoPennsylvaniaGap
Median grant / year$15,000$42,246−27,246in dollars
First-year class size203265−62
Acceptance rate9.74%8.05%+1.7percentage points
Annual tuition$83,316$78,348+4,968in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)ChicagoPennsylvania
Annual tuition$83,316$78,348
3-year total cost$360,972$348,396
Median grant / year$15,000$42,246
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureChicagoPennsylvania
First-time bar passage96.7%94.4%
Offer yield29.8%39.1%
Class fill94.1%95.8%
Students enrolled191254
First-year class size203265

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

ChicagoPennsylvania
Admissions dataAll Chicago admissions dataAll Pennsylvania admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Pennsylvania pairings, and other alternatives to Chicago.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Chicago vs Pennsylvania?

Chicago admitted 9.74% of applicants while Pennsylvania admitted 8.05%.

Which is cheaper, Chicago or Pennsylvania?

Over three years, Pennsylvania costs $12,576 less. Chicago runs $360,972 and Pennsylvania runs $348,396, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Chicago or Pennsylvania?

Chicago reports a median grant of $15,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $42,246 at Pennsylvania. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of Chicago Law School and University of Pennsylvania Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.