Home / Compare / Chicago vs Loyola University-Chicago

Chicago vs Loyola University-Chicago

The University of Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL  |  Loyola University-Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Chicago — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

9.7%
Chicago acceptance
28.2%
Loyola University-Chicago acceptance
$84,000
3-year cost gap
13
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureChicagoLoyola University-ChicagoDifference
Acceptance rate9.74%28.18%−18.4
Median LSAT174161+13
Median GPA3.973.7+0
Annual tuition$83,316$58,670+24,646
3-year total cost$360,972$276,972+84,000
Median grant / year$15,000$30,000−15,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size203296−93
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill94.1%98.3%−4.2
Bar pass (1st time)96.7%85.7%+11.0

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Loyola University-Chicago's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureChicagoLoyola University-ChicagoGap
Acceptance rate9.74%28.18%−18.4percentage points
Median grant / year$15,000$30,000−15,000in dollars
Annual tuition$83,316$58,670+24,646in dollars
First-year class size203296−93

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)ChicagoLoyola University-Chicago
Annual tuition$83,316$58,670
3-year total cost$360,972$276,972
Median grant / year$15,000$30,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureChicagoLoyola University-Chicago
First-time bar passage96.7%85.7%
Offer yield29.8%24.3%
Class fill94.1%98.3%
Students enrolled191291
First-year class size203296

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

ChicagoLoyola University-Chicago
Admissions dataAll Chicago admissions dataAll Loyola University-Chicago admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Loyola University-Chicago pairings, and other alternatives to Chicago.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Chicago vs Loyola University-Chicago?

Chicago admitted 9.74% of applicants while Loyola University-Chicago admitted 28.18%.

Which is cheaper, Chicago or Loyola University-Chicago?

Over three years, Loyola University-Chicago costs $84,000 less. Chicago runs $360,972 and Loyola University-Chicago runs $276,972, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Chicago or Loyola University-Chicago?

Chicago reports a median grant of $15,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,000 at Loyola University-Chicago. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of Chicago Law School and Loyola University-Chicago Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.