Home / Compare / Chicago vs Duke University

Chicago vs Duke University

The University of Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL  |  Duke University Law School · Durham, NC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

9.7%
Chicago acceptance
12.9%
Duke University acceptance
$37,137
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureChicagoDuke UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate9.74%12.88%−3.1
Median LSAT174171+3
Median GPA3.973.91+0
Annual tuition$83,316$80,100+3,216
3-year total cost$360,972$323,835+37,137
Median grant / year$15,000$35,000−20,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size203227−24
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill94.1%97.8%−3.7
Bar pass (1st time)96.7%98.2%−1.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Duke University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureChicagoDuke UniversityGap
Median grant / year$15,000$35,000−20,000in dollars
Acceptance rate9.74%12.88%−3.1percentage points
3-year total cost$360,972$323,835+37,137in dollars
First-year class size203227−24

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)ChicagoDuke University
Annual tuition$83,316$80,100
3-year total cost$360,972$323,835
Median grant / year$15,000$35,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureChicagoDuke University
First-time bar passage96.7%98.2%
Offer yield29.8%27.6%
Class fill94.1%97.8%
Students enrolled191222
First-year class size203227

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

ChicagoDuke University
Admissions dataAll Chicago admissions dataAll Duke University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Duke University pairings, and other alternatives to Chicago.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Chicago vs Duke University?

Chicago admitted 9.74% of applicants while Duke University admitted 12.88%.

Which is cheaper, Chicago or Duke University?

Over three years, Duke University costs $37,137 less. Chicago runs $360,972 and Duke University runs $323,835, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Chicago or Duke University?

Chicago reports a median grant of $15,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $35,000 at Duke University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of Chicago Law School and Duke University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.