Home / Compare / Charleston School of Law vs South Carolina

Charleston School of Law vs South Carolina

Charleston School of Law · Charleston, SC  |  University of South Carolina Law School · Columbia, SC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in South Carolina — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

50.2%
Charleston School of Law acceptance
29.9%
South Carolina acceptance
$84,066
3-year cost gap
8
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCharleston School of LawSouth CarolinaDifference
Acceptance rate50.20%29.90%+20.3
Median LSAT154162−8
Median GPA3.513.67−0
Annual tuition$48,600$20,322+28,278
3-year total cost$232,308$148,242+84,066
Median grant / year$20,000$12,562+7,438
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size241221+20
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.3%97.3%+1.1
Bar pass (1st time)77.4%90.0%−12.7

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to South Carolina's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCharleston School of LawSouth CarolinaGap
Annual tuition$48,600$20,322+28,278in dollars
Acceptance rate50.20%29.90%+20.3percentage points
Median grant / year$20,000$12,562+7,438in dollars
3-year total cost$232,308$148,242+84,066in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Charleston School of LawSouth Carolina
Annual tuition$48,600$20,322
3-year total cost$232,308$148,242
Median grant / year$20,000$12,562
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCharleston School of LawSouth Carolina
First-time bar passage77.4%90.0%
Offer yield21.3%34.0%
Class fill98.3%97.3%
Students enrolled237215
First-year class size241221

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Charleston School of LawSouth Carolina
Admissions dataAll Charleston School of Law admissions dataAll South Carolina admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other South Carolina pairings, and other alternatives to Charleston School of Law.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Charleston School of Law vs South Carolina?

Charleston School of Law admitted 50.20% of applicants while South Carolina admitted 29.90%.

Which is cheaper, Charleston School of Law or South Carolina?

Over three years, South Carolina costs $84,066 less. Charleston School of Law runs $232,308 and South Carolina runs $148,242, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Charleston School of Law or South Carolina?

Charleston School of Law reports a median grant of $20,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $12,562 at South Carolina. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Charleston School of Law and University of South Carolina Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.