Home / Compare / Chapman University vs Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles

Chapman University vs Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles

Chapman University Law School · Orange, CA  |  Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles Law School · Los Angeles, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

20.5%
Chapman University acceptance
26.1%
Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles acceptance
$54,777
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureChapman UniversityLoyola Marymount University-Los AngelesDifference
Acceptance rate20.53%26.05%−5.5
Median LSAT163163identical
Median GPA3.73.74−0
Annual tuition$63,126$70,360−7,234
3-year total cost$288,471$343,248−54,777
Median grant / year$59,500$45,000+14,500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size153338−185
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.3%98.5%+0.8
Bar pass (1st time)80.3%79.7%+0.6

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureChapman UniversityLoyola Marymount University-Los AngelesGap
First-year class size153338−185
Median grant / year$59,500$45,000+14,500in dollars
Acceptance rate20.53%26.05%−5.5percentage points
3-year total cost$288,471$343,248−54,777in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Chapman UniversityLoyola Marymount University-Los Angeles
Annual tuition$63,126$70,360
3-year total cost$288,471$343,248
Median grant / year$59,500$45,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureChapman UniversityLoyola Marymount University-Los Angeles
First-time bar passage80.3%79.7%
Offer yield29.5%28.1%
Class fill99.3%98.5%
Students enrolled152333
First-year class size153338

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Chapman UniversityLoyola Marymount University-Los Angeles
Admissions dataAll Chapman University admissions dataAll Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles pairings, and other alternatives to Chapman University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Chapman University vs Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles?

Chapman University admitted 20.53% of applicants while Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles admitted 26.05%.

Which is cheaper, Chapman University or Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles?

Over three years, Chapman University costs $54,777 less. Chapman University runs $288,471 and Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles runs $343,248, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Chapman University or Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles?

Chapman University reports a median grant of $59,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $45,000 at Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Chapman University Law School and Loyola Marymount University-Los Angeles Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.