Home / Compare / Catholic University of America, The vs George Washington University, The

Catholic University of America, The vs George Washington University, The

Catholic University of America, The Law School · Washington, DC  |  George Washington University, The Law School · Washington, DC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Washington — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

32.4%
Catholic University of America, The acceptance
27.2%
George Washington University, The acceptance
$30,636
3-year cost gap
7
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCatholic University of America, TheGeorge Washington University, TheDifference
Acceptance rate32.40%27.21%+5.2
Median LSAT161168−7
Median GPA3.683.86−0
Annual tuition$61,580$75,420−13,840
3-year total cost$271,344$301,980−30,636
Median grant / year$26,000$28,000−2,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size182612−430
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.4%97.2%+1.1
Bar pass (1st time)90.4%87.7%+2.7

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to George Washington University, The's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCatholic University of America, TheGeorge Washington University, TheGap
First-year class size182612−430
Acceptance rate32.40%27.21%+5.2percentage points
Annual tuition$61,580$75,420−13,840in dollars
3-year total cost$271,344$301,980−30,636in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Catholic University of America, TheGeorge Washington University, The
Annual tuition$61,580$75,420
3-year total cost$271,344$301,980
Median grant / year$26,000$28,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCatholic University of America, TheGeorge Washington University, The
First-time bar passage90.4%87.7%
Offer yield29.6%22.5%
Class fill98.4%97.2%
Students enrolled179595
First-year class size182612

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Catholic University of America, TheGeorge Washington University, The
Admissions dataAll Catholic University of America, The admissions dataAll George Washington University, The admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other George Washington University, The pairings, and other alternatives to Catholic University of America, The.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Catholic University of America, The vs George Washington University, The?

Catholic University of America, The admitted 32.40% of applicants while George Washington University, The admitted 27.21%.

Which is cheaper, Catholic University of America, The or George Washington University, The?

Over three years, Catholic University of America, The costs $30,636 less. Catholic University of America, The runs $271,344 and George Washington University, The runs $301,980, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Catholic University of America, The or George Washington University, The?

Catholic University of America, The reports a median grant of $26,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $28,000 at George Washington University, The. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Catholic University of America, The Law School and George Washington University, The Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.