Home / Compare / Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) vs City University of New York (CUNY)

Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) vs City University of New York (CUNY)

Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) · New York City, NY  |  City University of New York (CUNY) Law School · New York City, NY

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in New York City — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

29.6%
Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) acceptance
28.6%
City University of New York (CUNY) acceptance
$191,262
3-year cost gap
10
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University)City University of New York (CUNY)Difference
Acceptance rate29.56%28.65%+0.9
Median LSAT165155+10
Median GPA3.783.54+0
Annual tuition$74,438$15,450+58,988
3-year total cost$331,716$140,454+191,262
Median grant / year$40,000$8,000+32,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size326219+107
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.9%95.9%+2.0
Bar pass (1st time)87.8%69.0%+18.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to City University of New York (CUNY)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University)City University of New York (CUNY)Gap
Median grant / year$40,000$8,000+32,000in dollars
Annual tuition$74,438$15,450+58,988in dollars
3-year total cost$331,716$140,454+191,262in dollars
First-year class size326219+107

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University)City University of New York (CUNY)
Annual tuition$74,438$15,450
3-year total cost$331,716$140,454
Median grant / year$40,000$8,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University)City University of New York (CUNY)
First-time bar passage87.8%69.0%
Offer yield28.2%31.9%
Class fill97.9%95.9%
Students enrolled319210
First-year class size326219

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University)City University of New York (CUNY)
Admissions dataAll Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) admissions dataAll City University of New York (CUNY) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other City University of New York (CUNY) pairings, and other alternatives to Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University).

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) vs City University of New York (CUNY)?

Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) admitted 29.56% of applicants while City University of New York (CUNY) admitted 28.65%.

Which is cheaper, Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) or City University of New York (CUNY)?

Over three years, City University of New York (CUNY) costs $191,262 less. Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) runs $331,716 and City University of New York (CUNY) runs $140,454, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) or City University of New York (CUNY)?

Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) reports a median grant of $40,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $8,000 at City University of New York (CUNY). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Cardozo School of Law (Yeshiva University) and City University of New York (CUNY) Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.