Home / Compare / Capital University Law School vs Toledo

Capital University Law School vs Toledo

Capital University Law School · Columbus, OH  |  The University of Toledo Law School · Toledo, OH

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Ohio — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

65.9%
Capital University Law School acceptance
52.5%
Toledo acceptance
$44,376
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCapital University Law SchoolToledoDifference
Acceptance rate65.90%52.52%+13.4
Median LSAT151153−2
Median GPA3.443.53−0
Annual tuition$45,066$26,446+18,620
3-year total cost$199,704$155,328+44,376
Median grant / year$21,000$20,000+1,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size180126+54
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.7%100.0%−3.3
Bar pass (1st time)73.7%77.4%−3.7

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Toledo's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCapital University Law SchoolToledoGap
Annual tuition$45,066$26,446+18,620in dollars
First-year class size180126+54
3-year total cost$199,704$155,328+44,376in dollars
Acceptance rate65.90%52.52%+13.4percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Capital University Law SchoolToledo
Annual tuition$45,066$26,446
3-year total cost$199,704$155,328
Median grant / year$21,000$20,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCapital University Law SchoolToledo
First-time bar passage73.7%77.4%
Offer yield30.2%32.7%
Class fill96.7%100.0%
Students enrolled174126
First-year class size180126

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Capital University Law SchoolToledo
Admissions dataAll Capital University Law School admissions dataAll Toledo admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Toledo pairings, and other alternatives to Capital University Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Capital University Law School vs Toledo?

Capital University Law School admitted 65.90% of applicants while Toledo admitted 52.52%.

Which is cheaper, Capital University Law School or Toledo?

Over three years, Toledo costs $44,376 less. Capital University Law School runs $199,704 and Toledo runs $155,328, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Capital University Law School or Toledo?

Capital University Law School reports a median grant of $21,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $20,000 at Toledo. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Capital University Law School and The University of Toledo Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.