Home / Compare / Capital University Law School vs The Ohio State University

Capital University Law School vs The Ohio State University

Capital University Law School · Columbus, OH  |  The Ohio State University Law School · Columbus, OH

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Columbus — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

65.9%
Capital University Law School acceptance
24.6%
The Ohio State University acceptance
$16,839
3-year cost gap
17
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCapital University Law SchoolThe Ohio State UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate65.90%24.62%+41.3
Median LSAT151168−17
Median GPA3.443.91−0
Annual tuition$45,066$35,650+9,416
3-year total cost$199,704$182,865+16,839
Median grant / year$21,000$29,984−8,984
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size180159+21
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.7%99.4%−2.7
Bar pass (1st time)73.7%93.1%−19.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to The Ohio State University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCapital University Law SchoolThe Ohio State UniversityGap
Acceptance rate65.90%24.62%+41.3percentage points
Median grant / year$21,000$29,984−8,984in dollars
Annual tuition$45,066$35,650+9,416in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)73.7%93.1%−19.4

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Capital University Law SchoolThe Ohio State University
Annual tuition$45,066$35,650
3-year total cost$199,704$182,865
Median grant / year$21,000$29,984
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCapital University Law SchoolThe Ohio State University
First-time bar passage73.7%93.1%
Offer yield30.2%28.0%
Class fill96.7%99.4%
Students enrolled174158
First-year class size180159

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Capital University Law SchoolThe Ohio State University
Admissions dataAll Capital University Law School admissions dataAll The Ohio State University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other The Ohio State University pairings, and other alternatives to Capital University Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Capital University Law School vs The Ohio State University?

Capital University Law School admitted 65.90% of applicants while The Ohio State University admitted 24.62%.

Which is cheaper, Capital University Law School or The Ohio State University?

Over three years, The Ohio State University costs $16,839 less. Capital University Law School runs $199,704 and The Ohio State University runs $182,865, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Capital University Law School or The Ohio State University?

Capital University Law School reports a median grant of $21,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $29,984 at The Ohio State University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Capital University Law School and The Ohio State University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.