Home / Compare / California Western School of Law vs San Francisco

California Western School of Law vs San Francisco

California Western School of Law · San Diego, CA  |  University of San Francisco Law School · San Francisco, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

46.9%
California Western School of Law acceptance
42.4%
San Francisco acceptance
$19,344
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia Western School of LawSan FranciscoDifference
Acceptance rate46.92%42.38%+4.5
Median LSAT155155identical
Median GPA3.53.47+0
Annual tuition$64,720$59,800+4,920
3-year total cost$297,636$278,292+19,344
Median grant / year$37,440$33,718+3,722
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size242201+41
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.1%98.5%−1.4
Bar pass (1st time)71.4%80.9%−9.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to San Francisco's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia Western School of LawSan FranciscoGap
First-year class size242201+41
Bar pass (1st time)71.4%80.9%−9.4
Median grant / year$37,440$33,718+3,722in dollars
Acceptance rate46.92%42.38%+4.5percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California Western School of LawSan Francisco
Annual tuition$64,720$59,800
3-year total cost$297,636$278,292
Median grant / year$37,440$33,718
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia Western School of LawSan Francisco
First-time bar passage71.4%80.9%
Offer yield23.4%22.2%
Class fill97.1%98.5%
Students enrolled235198
First-year class size242201

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California Western School of LawSan Francisco
Admissions dataAll California Western School of Law admissions dataAll San Francisco admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other San Francisco pairings, and other alternatives to California Western School of Law.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California Western School of Law vs San Francisco?

California Western School of Law admitted 46.92% of applicants while San Francisco admitted 42.38%.

Which is cheaper, California Western School of Law or San Francisco?

Over three years, San Francisco costs $19,344 less. California Western School of Law runs $297,636 and San Francisco runs $278,292, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California Western School of Law or San Francisco?

California Western School of Law reports a median grant of $37,440 per year for full-time students, compared with $33,718 at San Francisco. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for California Western School of Law and University of San Francisco Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.