Home / Compare / California-Los Angeles vs Virginia

California-Los Angeles vs Virginia

University of California-Los Angeles Law School · Los Angeles, CA  |  University of Virginia Law School · Charlottesville, VA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

12.1%
California-Los Angeles acceptance
10.2%
Virginia acceptance
$14,286
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia-Los AngelesVirginiaDifference
Acceptance rate12.05%10.17%+1.9
Median LSAT171173−2
Median GPA3.953.99−0
Annual tuition$59,084$74,078−14,994
3-year total cost$305,724$320,010−14,286
Median grant / year$24,456$35,000−10,544
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size328309+19
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.2%97.7%+0.4
Bar pass (1st time)96.7%95.1%+1.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Virginia's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia-Los AngelesVirginiaGap
Median grant / year$24,456$35,000−10,544in dollars
Annual tuition$59,084$74,078−14,994in dollars
Acceptance rate12.05%10.17%+1.9percentage points
First-year class size328309+19

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California-Los AngelesVirginia
Annual tuition$59,084$74,078
3-year total cost$305,724$320,010
Median grant / year$24,456$35,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia-Los AngelesVirginia
First-time bar passage96.7%95.1%
Offer yield31.0%44.1%
Class fill98.2%97.7%
Students enrolled322302
First-year class size328309

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California-Los AngelesVirginia
Admissions dataAll California-Los Angeles admissions dataAll Virginia admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Virginia pairings, and other alternatives to California-Los Angeles.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California-Los Angeles vs Virginia?

California-Los Angeles admitted 12.05% of applicants while Virginia admitted 10.17%.

Which is cheaper, California-Los Angeles or Virginia?

Over three years, California-Los Angeles costs $14,286 less. California-Los Angeles runs $305,724 and Virginia runs $320,010, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California-Los Angeles or Virginia?

California-Los Angeles reports a median grant of $24,456 per year for full-time students, compared with $35,000 at Virginia. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of California-Los Angeles Law School and University of Virginia Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.