Home / Compare / California-Los Angeles vs Northwestern University

California-Los Angeles vs Northwestern University

University of California-Los Angeles Law School · Los Angeles, CA  |  Northwestern University Law School · Chicago, IL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

12.1%
California-Los Angeles acceptance
12.3%
Northwestern University acceptance
$20,835
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia-Los AngelesNorthwestern UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate12.05%12.30%−0.3
Median LSAT171173−2
Median GPA3.953.96−0
Annual tuition$59,084$79,772−20,688
3-year total cost$305,724$326,559−20,835
Median grant / year$24,456$40,000−15,544
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size328250+78
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.2%98.0%+0.2
Bar pass (1st time)96.7%91.8%+4.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Northwestern University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia-Los AngelesNorthwestern UniversityGap
Median grant / year$24,456$40,000−15,544in dollars
First-year class size328250+78
Annual tuition$59,084$79,772−20,688in dollars
3-year total cost$305,724$326,559−20,835in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California-Los AngelesNorthwestern University
Annual tuition$59,084$79,772
3-year total cost$305,724$326,559
Median grant / year$24,456$40,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia-Los AngelesNorthwestern University
First-time bar passage96.7%91.8%
Offer yield31.0%25.0%
Class fill98.2%98.0%
Students enrolled322245
First-year class size328250

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California-Los AngelesNorthwestern University
Admissions dataAll California-Los Angeles admissions dataAll Northwestern University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Northwestern University pairings, and other alternatives to California-Los Angeles.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California-Los Angeles vs Northwestern University?

California-Los Angeles admitted 12.05% of applicants while Northwestern University admitted 12.30%.

Which is cheaper, California-Los Angeles or Northwestern University?

Over three years, California-Los Angeles costs $20,835 less. California-Los Angeles runs $305,724 and Northwestern University runs $326,559, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California-Los Angeles or Northwestern University?

California-Los Angeles reports a median grant of $24,456 per year for full-time students, compared with $40,000 at Northwestern University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of California-Los Angeles Law School and Northwestern University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.