Home / Compare / California-Los Angeles vs Duke University

California-Los Angeles vs Duke University

University of California-Los Angeles Law School · Los Angeles, CA  |  Duke University Law School · Durham, NC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are both T14 — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

12.1%
California-Los Angeles acceptance
12.9%
Duke University acceptance
$18,111
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia-Los AngelesDuke UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate12.05%12.88%−0.8
Median LSAT171171identical
Median GPA3.953.91+0
Annual tuition$59,084$80,100−21,016
3-year total cost$305,724$323,835−18,111
Median grant / year$24,456$35,000−10,544
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size328227+101
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.2%97.8%+0.4
Bar pass (1st time)96.7%98.2%−1.6

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Duke University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia-Los AngelesDuke UniversityGap
First-year class size328227+101
Median grant / year$24,456$35,000−10,544in dollars
Annual tuition$59,084$80,100−21,016in dollars
Acceptance rate12.05%12.88%−0.8percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California-Los AngelesDuke University
Annual tuition$59,084$80,100
3-year total cost$305,724$323,835
Median grant / year$24,456$35,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia-Los AngelesDuke University
First-time bar passage96.7%98.2%
Offer yield31.0%27.6%
Class fill98.2%97.8%
Students enrolled322222
First-year class size328227

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California-Los AngelesDuke University
Admissions dataAll California-Los Angeles admissions dataAll Duke University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Duke University pairings, and other alternatives to California-Los Angeles.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California-Los Angeles vs Duke University?

California-Los Angeles admitted 12.05% of applicants while Duke University admitted 12.88%.

Which is cheaper, California-Los Angeles or Duke University?

Over three years, California-Los Angeles costs $18,111 less. California-Los Angeles runs $305,724 and Duke University runs $323,835, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California-Los Angeles or Duke University?

California-Los Angeles reports a median grant of $24,456 per year for full-time students, compared with $35,000 at Duke University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of California-Los Angeles Law School and Duke University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.