Home / Compare / California-Irvine vs Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)

California-Irvine vs Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)

University of California-Irvine Law School · Irvine, CA  |  Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) · Irvine, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Irvine — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

14.9%
California-Irvine acceptance
43.7%
Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) acceptance
$2,142
3-year cost gap
17
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia-IrvineWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)Difference
Acceptance rate14.92%43.67%−28.8
Median LSAT169152+17
Median GPA3.83.36+0
Annual tuition$59,080$54,840+4,240
3-year total cost$261,222$263,364−2,142
Median grant / year$25,000$23,616+1,384
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size189117+72
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.5%96.6%+2.9
Bar pass (1st time)89.9%81.1%+8.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia-IrvineWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)Gap
Acceptance rate14.92%43.67%−28.8percentage points
First-year class size189117+72
Bar pass (1st time)89.9%81.1%+8.8
Annual tuition$59,080$54,840+4,240in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California-IrvineWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)
Annual tuition$59,080$54,840
3-year total cost$261,222$263,364
Median grant / year$25,000$23,616
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia-IrvineWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)
First-time bar passage89.9%81.1%
Offer yield33.9%28.2%
Class fill99.5%96.6%
Students enrolled188113
First-year class size189117

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California-IrvineWestern State College of Law (Westcliff University)
Admissions dataAll California-Irvine admissions dataAll Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) pairings, and other alternatives to California-Irvine.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California-Irvine vs Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)?

California-Irvine admitted 14.92% of applicants while Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) admitted 43.67%.

Which is cheaper, California-Irvine or Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)?

Over three years, California-Irvine costs $2,142 less. California-Irvine runs $261,222 and Western State College of Law (Westcliff University) runs $263,364, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California-Irvine or Western State College of Law (Westcliff University)?

California-Irvine reports a median grant of $25,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $23,616 at Western State College of Law (Westcliff University). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of California-Irvine Law School and Western State College of Law (Westcliff University). Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.