Home / Compare / California-Irvine vs Southern California

California-Irvine vs Southern California

University of California-Irvine Law School · Irvine, CA  |  University of Southern California Law School · Los Angeles, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

14.9%
California-Irvine acceptance
11.2%
Southern California acceptance
$91,680
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia-IrvineSouthern CaliforniaDifference
Acceptance rate14.92%11.17%+3.8
Median LSAT169169identical
Median GPA3.83.91−0
Annual tuition$59,080$84,034−24,954
3-year total cost$261,222$352,902−91,680
Median grant / year$25,000$40,092−15,092
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size189228−39
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.5%99.6%−0.1
Bar pass (1st time)89.9%94.1%−4.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Southern California's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia-IrvineSouthern CaliforniaGap
Median grant / year$25,000$40,092−15,092in dollars
Acceptance rate14.92%11.17%+3.8percentage points
Annual tuition$59,080$84,034−24,954in dollars
3-year total cost$261,222$352,902−91,680in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California-IrvineSouthern California
Annual tuition$59,080$84,034
3-year total cost$261,222$352,902
Median grant / year$25,000$40,092
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia-IrvineSouthern California
First-time bar passage89.9%94.1%
Offer yield33.9%28.2%
Class fill99.5%99.6%
Students enrolled188227
First-year class size189228

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California-IrvineSouthern California
Admissions dataAll California-Irvine admissions dataAll Southern California admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Southern California pairings, and other alternatives to California-Irvine.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California-Irvine vs Southern California?

California-Irvine admitted 14.92% of applicants while Southern California admitted 11.17%.

Which is cheaper, California-Irvine or Southern California?

Over three years, California-Irvine costs $91,680 less. California-Irvine runs $261,222 and Southern California runs $352,902, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California-Irvine or Southern California?

California-Irvine reports a median grant of $25,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $40,092 at Southern California. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of California-Irvine Law School and University of Southern California Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.