Home / Compare / California-Davis vs Pepperdine University

California-Davis vs Pepperdine University

University of California-Davis Law School · Davis, CA  |  Pepperdine University Law School · Los Angeles, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

16.0%
California-Davis acceptance
23.4%
Pepperdine University acceptance
$42,996
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia-DavisPepperdine UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate15.97%23.36%−7.4
Median LSAT165164+1
Median GPA3.73.85−0
Annual tuition$57,460$72,920−15,460
3-year total cost$278,754$321,750−42,996
Median grant / year$25,000$30,000−5,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size209227−18
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.1%98.2%−0.2
Bar pass (1st time)93.2%90.7%+2.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Pepperdine University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia-DavisPepperdine UniversityGap
Acceptance rate15.97%23.36%−7.4percentage points
Annual tuition$57,460$72,920−15,460in dollars
Median grant / year$25,000$30,000−5,000in dollars
3-year total cost$278,754$321,750−42,996in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California-DavisPepperdine University
Annual tuition$57,460$72,920
3-year total cost$278,754$321,750
Median grant / year$25,000$30,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia-DavisPepperdine University
First-time bar passage93.2%90.7%
Offer yield33.0%22.3%
Class fill98.1%98.2%
Students enrolled205223
First-year class size209227

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California-DavisPepperdine University
Admissions dataAll California-Davis admissions dataAll Pepperdine University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Pepperdine University pairings, and other alternatives to California-Davis.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California-Davis vs Pepperdine University?

California-Davis admitted 15.97% of applicants while Pepperdine University admitted 23.36%.

Which is cheaper, California-Davis or Pepperdine University?

Over three years, California-Davis costs $42,996 less. California-Davis runs $278,754 and Pepperdine University runs $321,750, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California-Davis or Pepperdine University?

California-Davis reports a median grant of $25,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,000 at Pepperdine University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of California-Davis Law School and Pepperdine University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.