Home / Compare / California College of the Law, San Francisco vs San Diego

California College of the Law, San Francisco vs San Diego

University of California College of the Law, San Francisco · San Francisco, CA  |  University of San Diego Law School · San Diego, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

27.5%
California College of the Law, San Francisco acceptance
23.5%
San Diego acceptance
$54,459
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia College of the Law, San FranciscoSan DiegoDifference
Acceptance rate27.48%23.51%+4.0
Median LSAT161163−2
Median GPA3.713.84−0
Annual tuition$53,087$66,950−13,863
3-year total cost$266,385$320,844−54,459
Median grant / year$20,000$32,000−12,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size380240+140
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.4%99.6%−1.2
Bar pass (1st time)86.3%86.7%−0.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to San Diego's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia College of the Law, San FranciscoSan DiegoGap
First-year class size380240+140
Median grant / year$20,000$32,000−12,000in dollars
Annual tuition$53,087$66,950−13,863in dollars
3-year total cost$266,385$320,844−54,459in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California College of the Law, San FranciscoSan Diego
Annual tuition$53,087$66,950
3-year total cost$266,385$320,844
Median grant / year$20,000$32,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia College of the Law, San FranciscoSan Diego
First-time bar passage86.3%86.7%
Offer yield29.6%24.0%
Class fill98.4%99.6%
Students enrolled374239
First-year class size380240

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California College of the Law, San FranciscoSan Diego
Admissions dataAll California College of the Law, San Francisco admissions dataAll San Diego admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other San Diego pairings, and other alternatives to California College of the Law, San Francisco.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California College of the Law, San Francisco vs San Diego?

California College of the Law, San Francisco admitted 27.48% of applicants while San Diego admitted 23.51%.

Which is cheaper, California College of the Law, San Francisco or San Diego?

Over three years, California College of the Law, San Francisco costs $54,459 less. California College of the Law, San Francisco runs $266,385 and San Diego runs $320,844, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California College of the Law, San Francisco or San Diego?

California College of the Law, San Francisco reports a median grant of $20,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $32,000 at San Diego. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of California College of the Law, San Francisco and University of San Diego Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.