Home / Compare / California-Berkeley vs California-Los Angeles

California-Berkeley vs California-Los Angeles

University of California-Berkeley Law School · Berkeley, CA  |  University of California-Los Angeles Law School · Los Angeles, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

14.8%
California-Berkeley acceptance
12.1%
California-Los Angeles acceptance
$15,972
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia-BerkeleyCalifornia-Los AngelesDifference
Acceptance rate14.84%12.05%+2.8
Median LSAT170171−1
Median GPA3.923.95−0
Annual tuition$62,532$59,084+3,448
3-year total cost$321,696$305,724+15,972
Median grant / year$31,158$24,456+6,702
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size374328+46
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill93.0%98.2%−5.1
Bar pass (1st time)94.8%96.7%−1.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to California-Los Angeles's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia-BerkeleyCalifornia-Los AngelesGap
Median grant / year$31,158$24,456+6,702in dollars
Acceptance rate14.84%12.05%+2.8percentage points
First-year class size374328+46
Annual tuition$62,532$59,084+3,448in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California-BerkeleyCalifornia-Los Angeles
Annual tuition$62,532$59,084
3-year total cost$321,696$305,724
Median grant / year$31,158$24,456
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia-BerkeleyCalifornia-Los Angeles
First-time bar passage94.8%96.7%
Offer yield35.7%31.0%
Class fill93.0%98.2%
Students enrolled348322
First-year class size374328

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California-BerkeleyCalifornia-Los Angeles
Admissions dataAll California-Berkeley admissions dataAll California-Los Angeles admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other California-Los Angeles pairings, and other alternatives to California-Berkeley.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California-Berkeley vs California-Los Angeles?

California-Berkeley admitted 14.84% of applicants while California-Los Angeles admitted 12.05%.

Which is cheaper, California-Berkeley or California-Los Angeles?

Over three years, California-Los Angeles costs $15,972 less. California-Berkeley runs $321,696 and California-Los Angeles runs $305,724, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California-Berkeley or California-Los Angeles?

California-Berkeley reports a median grant of $31,158 per year for full-time students, compared with $24,456 at California-Los Angeles. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of California-Berkeley Law School and University of California-Los Angeles Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.