Home / Compare / California-Berkeley vs California-Irvine

California-Berkeley vs California-Irvine

University of California-Berkeley Law School · Berkeley, CA  |  University of California-Irvine Law School · Irvine, CA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

14.8%
California-Berkeley acceptance
14.9%
California-Irvine acceptance
$60,474
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCalifornia-BerkeleyCalifornia-IrvineDifference
Acceptance rate14.84%14.92%−0.1
Median LSAT170169+1
Median GPA3.923.8+0
Annual tuition$62,532$59,080+3,452
3-year total cost$321,696$261,222+60,474
Median grant / year$31,158$25,000+6,158
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size374189+185
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill93.0%99.5%−6.4
Bar pass (1st time)94.8%89.9%+4.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to California-Irvine's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCalifornia-BerkeleyCalifornia-IrvineGap
First-year class size374189+185
Median grant / year$31,158$25,000+6,158in dollars
3-year total cost$321,696$261,222+60,474in dollars
Annual tuition$62,532$59,080+3,452in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)California-BerkeleyCalifornia-Irvine
Annual tuition$62,532$59,080
3-year total cost$321,696$261,222
Median grant / year$31,158$25,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCalifornia-BerkeleyCalifornia-Irvine
First-time bar passage94.8%89.9%
Offer yield35.7%33.9%
Class fill93.0%99.5%
Students enrolled348188
First-year class size374189

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

California-BerkeleyCalifornia-Irvine
Admissions dataAll California-Berkeley admissions dataAll California-Irvine admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other California-Irvine pairings, and other alternatives to California-Berkeley.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at California-Berkeley vs California-Irvine?

California-Berkeley admitted 14.84% of applicants while California-Irvine admitted 14.92%.

Which is cheaper, California-Berkeley or California-Irvine?

Over three years, California-Irvine costs $60,474 less. California-Berkeley runs $321,696 and California-Irvine runs $261,222, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, California-Berkeley or California-Irvine?

California-Berkeley reports a median grant of $31,158 per year for full-time students, compared with $25,000 at California-Irvine. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of California-Berkeley Law School and University of California-Irvine Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.