Home / Compare / Brooklyn Law School vs Columbia University

Brooklyn Law School vs Columbia University

Brooklyn Law School · New York City, NY  |  Columbia University Law School · New York City, NY

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in New York City — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

44.0%
Brooklyn Law School acceptance
11.8%
Columbia University acceptance
$19,410
3-year cost gap
12
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureBrooklyn Law SchoolColumbia UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate44.00%11.84%+32.2
Median LSAT161173−12
Median GPA3.593.92−0
Annual tuition$75,496$85,368−9,872
3-year total cost$340,422$359,832−19,410
Median grant / year$34,000$32,000+2,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size414444−30
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%92.6%+7.4
Bar pass (1st time)85.5%94.7%−9.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Columbia University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureBrooklyn Law SchoolColumbia UniversityGap
Acceptance rate44.00%11.84%+32.2percentage points
Annual tuition$75,496$85,368−9,872in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)85.5%94.7%−9.3
First-year class size414444−30

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Brooklyn Law SchoolColumbia University
Annual tuition$75,496$85,368
3-year total cost$340,422$359,832
Median grant / year$34,000$32,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureBrooklyn Law SchoolColumbia University
First-time bar passage85.5%94.7%
Offer yield20.5%36.7%
Class fill100.0%92.6%
Students enrolled414411
First-year class size414444

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Brooklyn Law SchoolColumbia University
Admissions dataAll Brooklyn Law School admissions dataAll Columbia University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Columbia University pairings, and other alternatives to Brooklyn Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Brooklyn Law School vs Columbia University?

Brooklyn Law School admitted 44.00% of applicants while Columbia University admitted 11.84%.

Which is cheaper, Brooklyn Law School or Columbia University?

Over three years, Brooklyn Law School costs $19,410 less. Brooklyn Law School runs $340,422 and Columbia University runs $359,832, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Brooklyn Law School or Columbia University?

Brooklyn Law School reports a median grant of $34,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $32,000 at Columbia University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Brooklyn Law School and Columbia University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.