Home / Compare / Brooklyn Law School vs City University of New York (CUNY)

Brooklyn Law School vs City University of New York (CUNY)

Brooklyn Law School · New York City, NY  |  City University of New York (CUNY) Law School · New York City, NY

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in New York City — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

44.0%
Brooklyn Law School acceptance
28.6%
City University of New York (CUNY) acceptance
$199,968
3-year cost gap
6
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureBrooklyn Law SchoolCity University of New York (CUNY)Difference
Acceptance rate44.00%28.65%+15.4
Median LSAT161155+6
Median GPA3.593.54+0
Annual tuition$75,496$15,450+60,046
3-year total cost$340,422$140,454+199,968
Median grant / year$34,000$8,000+26,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size414219+195
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%95.9%+4.1
Bar pass (1st time)85.5%69.0%+16.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to City University of New York (CUNY)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureBrooklyn Law SchoolCity University of New York (CUNY)Gap
Annual tuition$75,496$15,450+60,046in dollars
Median grant / year$34,000$8,000+26,000in dollars
3-year total cost$340,422$140,454+199,968in dollars
First-year class size414219+195

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Brooklyn Law SchoolCity University of New York (CUNY)
Annual tuition$75,496$15,450
3-year total cost$340,422$140,454
Median grant / year$34,000$8,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureBrooklyn Law SchoolCity University of New York (CUNY)
First-time bar passage85.5%69.0%
Offer yield20.5%31.9%
Class fill100.0%95.9%
Students enrolled414210
First-year class size414219

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Brooklyn Law SchoolCity University of New York (CUNY)
Admissions dataAll Brooklyn Law School admissions dataAll City University of New York (CUNY) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other City University of New York (CUNY) pairings, and other alternatives to Brooklyn Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Brooklyn Law School vs City University of New York (CUNY)?

Brooklyn Law School admitted 44.00% of applicants while City University of New York (CUNY) admitted 28.65%.

Which is cheaper, Brooklyn Law School or City University of New York (CUNY)?

Over three years, City University of New York (CUNY) costs $199,968 less. Brooklyn Law School runs $340,422 and City University of New York (CUNY) runs $140,454, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Brooklyn Law School or City University of New York (CUNY)?

Brooklyn Law School reports a median grant of $34,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $8,000 at City University of New York (CUNY). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Brooklyn Law School and City University of New York (CUNY) Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.