Home / Compare / Brigham Young University vs Utah

Brigham Young University vs Utah

Brigham Young University Law School · Provo, UT  |  The University of Utah Law School · Salt Lake City, UT

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Utah — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

22.8%
Brigham Young University acceptance
25.3%
Utah acceptance
$93,195
3-year cost gap
4
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureBrigham Young UniversityUtahDifference
Acceptance rate22.80%25.28%−2.5
Median LSAT170166+4
Median GPA3.953.87+0
Annual tuition$15,992$34,721−18,729
3-year total cost$108,852$202,047−93,195
Median grant / year$11,646$28,410−16,764
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size122107+15
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.4%99.1%−0.7
Bar pass (1st time)96.8%94.6%+2.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Utah's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureBrigham Young UniversityUtahGap
Median grant / year$11,646$28,410−16,764in dollars
Annual tuition$15,992$34,721−18,729in dollars
3-year total cost$108,852$202,047−93,195in dollars
First-year class size122107+15

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Brigham Young UniversityUtah
Annual tuition$15,992$34,721
3-year total cost$108,852$202,047
Median grant / year$11,646$28,410
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureBrigham Young UniversityUtah
First-time bar passage96.8%94.6%
Offer yield81.1%28.0%
Class fill98.4%99.1%
Students enrolled120106
First-year class size122107

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Brigham Young UniversityUtah
Admissions dataAll Brigham Young University admissions dataAll Utah admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Utah pairings, and other alternatives to Brigham Young University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Brigham Young University vs Utah?

Brigham Young University admitted 22.80% of applicants while Utah admitted 25.28%.

Which is cheaper, Brigham Young University or Utah?

Over three years, Brigham Young University costs $93,195 less. Brigham Young University runs $108,852 and Utah runs $202,047, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Brigham Young University or Utah?

Brigham Young University reports a median grant of $11,646 per year for full-time students, compared with $28,410 at Utah. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Brigham Young University Law School and The University of Utah Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.