Home / Compare / Boston University vs Northeastern University

Boston University vs Northeastern University

Boston University Law School · Boston, MA  |  Northeastern University Law School · Boston, MA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Boston — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

12.1%
Boston University acceptance
24.2%
Northeastern University acceptance
$12,492
3-year cost gap
6
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureBoston UniversityNortheastern UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate12.08%24.22%−12.1
Median LSAT170164+6
Median GPA3.883.77+0
Annual tuition$69,870$65,652+4,218
3-year total cost$278,742$266,250+12,492
Median grant / year$29,000$31,000−2,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size238283−45
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.3%98.6%−0.3
Bar pass (1st time)94.9%90.5%+4.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Northeastern University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureBoston UniversityNortheastern UniversityGap
Acceptance rate12.08%24.22%−12.1percentage points
First-year class size238283−45
Median grant / year$29,000$31,000−2,000in dollars
Annual tuition$69,870$65,652+4,218in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Boston UniversityNortheastern University
Annual tuition$69,870$65,652
3-year total cost$278,742$266,250
Median grant / year$29,000$31,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureBoston UniversityNortheastern University
First-time bar passage94.9%90.5%
Offer yield24.6%20.4%
Class fill98.3%98.6%
Students enrolled234279
First-year class size238283

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Boston UniversityNortheastern University
Admissions dataAll Boston University admissions dataAll Northeastern University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Northeastern University pairings, and other alternatives to Boston University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Boston University vs Northeastern University?

Boston University admitted 12.08% of applicants while Northeastern University admitted 24.22%.

Which is cheaper, Boston University or Northeastern University?

Over three years, Northeastern University costs $12,492 less. Boston University runs $278,742 and Northeastern University runs $266,250, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Boston University or Northeastern University?

Boston University reports a median grant of $29,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $31,000 at Northeastern University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Boston University Law School and Northeastern University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.