Home / Compare / Boston University vs New England Law/Boston

Boston University vs New England Law/Boston

Boston University Law School · Boston, MA  |  New England Law/Boston · Boston, MA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Boston — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

12.1%
Boston University acceptance
61.3%
New England Law/Boston acceptance
$56,217
3-year cost gap
17
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureBoston UniversityNew England Law/BostonDifference
Acceptance rate12.08%61.30%−49.2
Median LSAT170153+17
Median GPA3.883.37+1
Annual tuition$69,870$62,896+6,974
3-year total cost$278,742$334,959−56,217
Median grant / year$29,000$40,000−11,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size238451−213
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.3%98.7%−0.4
Bar pass (1st time)94.9%73.9%+21.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to New England Law/Boston's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureBoston UniversityNew England Law/BostonGap
Acceptance rate12.08%61.30%−49.2percentage points
First-year class size238451−213
Bar pass (1st time)94.9%73.9%+21.1
Median grant / year$29,000$40,000−11,000in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Boston UniversityNew England Law/Boston
Annual tuition$69,870$62,896
3-year total cost$278,742$334,959
Median grant / year$29,000$40,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureBoston UniversityNew England Law/Boston
First-time bar passage94.9%73.9%
Offer yield24.6%18.2%
Class fill98.3%98.7%
Students enrolled234445
First-year class size238451

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Boston UniversityNew England Law/Boston
Admissions dataAll Boston University admissions dataAll New England Law/Boston admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other New England Law/Boston pairings, and other alternatives to Boston University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Boston University vs New England Law/Boston?

Boston University admitted 12.08% of applicants while New England Law/Boston admitted 61.30%.

Which is cheaper, Boston University or New England Law/Boston?

Over three years, Boston University costs $56,217 less. Boston University runs $278,742 and New England Law/Boston runs $334,959, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Boston University or New England Law/Boston?

Boston University reports a median grant of $29,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $40,000 at New England Law/Boston. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Boston University Law School and New England Law/Boston. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.