Home / Compare / Boston College vs Boston University
Boston College vs Boston University
Boston College Law School · Boston, MA | Boston University Law School · Boston, MA
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city · same state, similar selectivity in Boston — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | Boston College | Boston University | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 8.48% | 12.08% | −3.6 |
| Median LSAT | 168 | 170 | −2 |
| Median GPA | 3.83 | 3.88 | −0 |
| Annual tuition | $72,380 | $69,870 | +2,510 |
| 3-year total cost | $295,443 | $278,742 | +16,701 |
| Median grant / year | $24,000 | $29,000 | −5,000 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 219 | 238 | −19 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 98.6% | 98.3% | +0.3 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 96.2% | 94.9% | +1.3 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Boston University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | Boston College | Boston University | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 8.48% | 12.08% | −3.6percentage points |
| Median grant / year | $24,000 | $29,000 | −5,000in dollars |
| First-year class size | 219 | 238 | −19 |
| 3-year total cost | $295,443 | $278,742 | +16,701in dollars |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | Boston College | Boston University |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $72,380 | $69,870 |
| 3-year total cost | $295,443 | $278,742 |
| Median grant / year | $24,000 | $29,000 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | Boston College | Boston University |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 96.2% | 94.9% |
| Offer yield | 33.2% | 24.6% |
| Class fill | 98.6% | 98.3% |
| Students enrolled | 216 | 234 |
| First-year class size | 219 | 238 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| Boston College | Boston University | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All Boston College admissions data | All Boston University admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other Boston University pairings, and other alternatives to Boston College.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at Boston College vs Boston University?
Boston College admitted 8.48% of applicants while Boston University admitted 12.08%.
Which is cheaper, Boston College or Boston University?
Over three years, Boston University costs $16,701 less. Boston College runs $295,443 and Boston University runs $278,742, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, Boston College or Boston University?
Boston College reports a median grant of $24,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $29,000 at Boston University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Boston College Law School and Boston University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.