Home / Compare / Belmont University vs Vanderbilt University

Belmont University vs Vanderbilt University

Belmont University Law School · Nashville, TN  |  Vanderbilt University Law School · Nashville, TN

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Nashville — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

37.6%
Belmont University acceptance
13.3%
Vanderbilt University acceptance
$72,006
3-year cost gap
9
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureBelmont UniversityVanderbilt UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate37.62%13.26%+24.4
Median LSAT161170−9
Median GPA3.843.91−0
Annual tuition$55,500$76,440−20,940
3-year total cost$269,193$341,199−72,006
Median grant / year$40,710$32,792+7,918
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size136172−36
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%98.8%+1.2
Bar pass (1st time)96.5%94.6%+1.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Vanderbilt University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureBelmont UniversityVanderbilt UniversityGap
Acceptance rate37.62%13.26%+24.4percentage points
Annual tuition$55,500$76,440−20,940in dollars
Median grant / year$40,710$32,792+7,918in dollars
3-year total cost$269,193$341,199−72,006in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Belmont UniversityVanderbilt University
Annual tuition$55,500$76,440
3-year total cost$269,193$341,199
Median grant / year$40,710$32,792
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureBelmont UniversityVanderbilt University
First-time bar passage96.5%94.6%
Offer yield27.0%20.9%
Class fill100.0%98.8%
Students enrolled136170
First-year class size136172

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Belmont UniversityVanderbilt University
Admissions dataAll Belmont University admissions dataAll Vanderbilt University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Vanderbilt University pairings, and other alternatives to Belmont University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Belmont University vs Vanderbilt University?

Belmont University admitted 37.62% of applicants while Vanderbilt University admitted 13.26%.

Which is cheaper, Belmont University or Vanderbilt University?

Over three years, Belmont University costs $72,006 less. Belmont University runs $269,193 and Vanderbilt University runs $341,199, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Belmont University or Vanderbilt University?

Belmont University reports a median grant of $40,710 per year for full-time students, compared with $32,792 at Vanderbilt University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Belmont University Law School and Vanderbilt University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.