Home / Compare / Belmont University vs Tennessee

Belmont University vs Tennessee

Belmont University Law School · Nashville, TN  |  University of Tennessee Law School · Knoxville, TN

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Tennessee — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

37.6%
Belmont University acceptance
24.8%
Tennessee acceptance
$128,859
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureBelmont UniversityTennesseeDifference
Acceptance rate37.62%24.77%+12.8
Median LSAT161164−3
Median GPA3.843.89−0
Annual tuition$55,500$16,696+38,804
3-year total cost$269,193$140,334+128,859
Median grant / year$40,710$10,550+30,160
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size136140−4
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%99.3%+0.7
Bar pass (1st time)96.5%85.6%+10.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Tennessee's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureBelmont UniversityTennesseeGap
Median grant / year$40,710$10,550+30,160in dollars
Annual tuition$55,500$16,696+38,804in dollars
3-year total cost$269,193$140,334+128,859in dollars
Acceptance rate37.62%24.77%+12.8percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Belmont UniversityTennessee
Annual tuition$55,500$16,696
3-year total cost$269,193$140,334
Median grant / year$40,710$10,550
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureBelmont UniversityTennessee
First-time bar passage96.5%85.6%
Offer yield27.0%25.8%
Class fill100.0%99.3%
Students enrolled136139
First-year class size136140

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Belmont UniversityTennessee
Admissions dataAll Belmont University admissions dataAll Tennessee admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Tennessee pairings, and other alternatives to Belmont University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Belmont University vs Tennessee?

Belmont University admitted 37.62% of applicants while Tennessee admitted 24.77%.

Which is cheaper, Belmont University or Tennessee?

Over three years, Tennessee costs $128,859 less. Belmont University runs $269,193 and Tennessee runs $140,334, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Belmont University or Tennessee?

Belmont University reports a median grant of $40,710 per year for full-time students, compared with $10,550 at Tennessee. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Belmont University Law School and University of Tennessee Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.