Home / Compare / Baltimore vs Maryland

Baltimore vs Maryland

University of Baltimore Law School · Baltimore, MD  |  University of Maryland Law School · Baltimore, MD

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Baltimore — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

49.5%
Baltimore acceptance
26.1%
Maryland acceptance
$19,647
3-year cost gap
9
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureBaltimoreMarylandDifference
Acceptance rate49.50%26.08%+23.4
Median LSAT155164−9
Median GPA3.453.72−0
Annual tuition$33,944$37,830−3,886
3-year total cost$184,326$203,973−19,647
Median grant / year$15,000$28,000−13,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size248229+19
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.8%100.0%−3.2
Bar pass (1st time)70.5%81.7%−11.2

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Maryland's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureBaltimoreMarylandGap
Acceptance rate49.50%26.08%+23.4percentage points
Median grant / year$15,000$28,000−13,000in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)70.5%81.7%−11.2
Annual tuition$33,944$37,830−3,886in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)BaltimoreMaryland
Annual tuition$33,944$37,830
3-year total cost$184,326$203,973
Median grant / year$15,000$28,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureBaltimoreMaryland
First-time bar passage70.5%81.7%
Offer yield37.3%30.5%
Class fill96.8%100.0%
Students enrolled240229
First-year class size248229

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

BaltimoreMaryland
Admissions dataAll Baltimore admissions dataAll Maryland admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Maryland pairings, and other alternatives to Baltimore.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Baltimore vs Maryland?

Baltimore admitted 49.50% of applicants while Maryland admitted 26.08%.

Which is cheaper, Baltimore or Maryland?

Over three years, Baltimore costs $19,647 less. Baltimore runs $184,326 and Maryland runs $203,973, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Baltimore or Maryland?

Baltimore reports a median grant of $15,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $28,000 at Maryland. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Baltimore Law School and University of Maryland Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.