Home / Compare / Atlanta's John Marshall Law School vs South Dakota

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School vs South Dakota

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School · Atlanta, GA  |  University of South Dakota Law School · Vermillion, SD

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

One of these schools is the only law school in its state, so there is no local alternative to compare it against. This pairing matches the closest selectivity level found nationwide. The two are not practical alternatives for most applicants — the comparison is here so that every school on this site can be compared with something.

32.6%
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School acceptance
62.6%
South Dakota acceptance
$166,341
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAtlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolSouth DakotaDifference
Acceptance rate32.65%62.62%−30.0
Median LSAT152152identical
Median GPA3.133.47−0
Annual tuition$52,536$12,076+40,460
3-year total cost$267,036$100,695+166,341
Median grant / year$4,500$5,000−500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size13888+50
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.4%94.3%+2.1
Bar pass (1st time)63.8%69.2%−5.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to South Dakota's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAtlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolSouth DakotaGap
Annual tuition$52,536$12,076+40,460in dollars
3-year total cost$267,036$100,695+166,341in dollars
First-year class size13888+50
Acceptance rate32.65%62.62%−30.0percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Atlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolSouth Dakota
Annual tuition$52,536$12,076
3-year total cost$267,036$100,695
Median grant / year$4,500$5,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAtlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolSouth Dakota
First-time bar passage63.8%69.2%
Offer yield32.0%32.8%
Class fill96.4%94.3%
Students enrolled13383
First-year class size13888

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Atlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolSouth Dakota
Admissions dataAll Atlanta's John Marshall Law School admissions dataAll South Dakota admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other South Dakota pairings, and other alternatives to Atlanta's John Marshall Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Atlanta's John Marshall Law School vs South Dakota?

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School admitted 32.65% of applicants while South Dakota admitted 62.62%.

Which is cheaper, Atlanta's John Marshall Law School or South Dakota?

Over three years, South Dakota costs $166,341 less. Atlanta's John Marshall Law School runs $267,036 and South Dakota runs $100,695, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Atlanta's John Marshall Law School or South Dakota?

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School reports a median grant of $4,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $5,000 at South Dakota. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Atlanta's John Marshall Law School and University of South Dakota Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.