Home / Compare / Atlanta's John Marshall Law School vs Emory University

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School vs Emory University

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School · Atlanta, GA  |  Emory University Law School · Atlanta, GA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Atlanta — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

32.6%
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School acceptance
30.1%
Emory University acceptance
$61,350
3-year cost gap
14
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAtlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolEmory UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate32.65%30.09%+2.6
Median LSAT152166−14
Median GPA3.133.82−1
Annual tuition$52,536$69,510−16,974
3-year total cost$267,036$328,386−61,350
Median grant / year$4,500$36,000−31,500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size138391−253
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.4%99.5%−3.1
Bar pass (1st time)63.8%86.3%−22.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Emory University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAtlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolEmory UniversityGap
Median grant / year$4,500$36,000−31,500in dollars
First-year class size138391−253
Bar pass (1st time)63.8%86.3%−22.5
Annual tuition$52,536$69,510−16,974in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Atlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolEmory University
Annual tuition$52,536$69,510
3-year total cost$267,036$328,386
Median grant / year$4,500$36,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAtlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolEmory University
First-time bar passage63.8%86.3%
Offer yield32.0%32.9%
Class fill96.4%99.5%
Students enrolled133389
First-year class size138391

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Atlanta's John Marshall Law SchoolEmory University
Admissions dataAll Atlanta's John Marshall Law School admissions dataAll Emory University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Emory University pairings, and other alternatives to Atlanta's John Marshall Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Atlanta's John Marshall Law School vs Emory University?

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School admitted 32.65% of applicants while Emory University admitted 30.09%.

Which is cheaper, Atlanta's John Marshall Law School or Emory University?

Over three years, Atlanta's John Marshall Law School costs $61,350 less. Atlanta's John Marshall Law School runs $267,036 and Emory University runs $328,386, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Atlanta's John Marshall Law School or Emory University?

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School reports a median grant of $4,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $36,000 at Emory University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Atlanta's John Marshall Law School and Emory University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.