Home / Compare / Arizona vs Arizona State University
Arizona vs Arizona State University
The University of Arizona Law School · Tucson, AZ | Arizona State University Law School · Phoenix, AZ
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Arizona — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | Arizona | Arizona State University | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 27.91% | 19.78% | +8.1 |
| Median LSAT | 163 | 165 | −2 |
| Median GPA | 3.78 | 3.91 | −0 |
| Annual tuition | $26,490 | $28,390 | −1,900 |
| 3-year total cost | $156,636 | $188,769 | −32,133 |
| Median grant / year | $25,235 | $20,000 | +5,235 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 110 | 266 | −156 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 99.1% | 99.2% | −0.2 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 84.1% | 91.9% | −7.8 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Arizona State University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | Arizona | Arizona State University | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| First-year class size | 110 | 266 | −156 |
| Acceptance rate | 27.91% | 19.78% | +8.1percentage points |
| Median grant / year | $25,235 | $20,000 | +5,235in dollars |
| 3-year total cost | $156,636 | $188,769 | −32,133in dollars |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | Arizona | Arizona State University |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $26,490 | $28,390 |
| 3-year total cost | $156,636 | $188,769 |
| Median grant / year | $25,235 | $20,000 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | Arizona | Arizona State University |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 84.1% | 91.9% |
| Offer yield | 21.9% | 28.9% |
| Class fill | 99.1% | 99.2% |
| Students enrolled | 109 | 264 |
| First-year class size | 110 | 266 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| Arizona | Arizona State University | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All Arizona admissions data | All Arizona State University admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other Arizona State University pairings, and other alternatives to Arizona.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at Arizona vs Arizona State University?
Arizona admitted 27.91% of applicants while Arizona State University admitted 19.78%.
Which is cheaper, Arizona or Arizona State University?
Over three years, Arizona costs $32,133 less. Arizona runs $156,636 and Arizona State University runs $188,769, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, Arizona or Arizona State University?
Arizona reports a median grant of $25,235 per year for full-time students, compared with $20,000 at Arizona State University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of Arizona Law School and Arizona State University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.