Home / Compare / Appalachian School of Law vs Liberty University

Appalachian School of Law vs Liberty University

Appalachian School of Law · Grundy, VA  |  Liberty University Law School · Lynchburg, VA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Virginia — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

60.9%
Appalachian School of Law acceptance
58.8%
Liberty University acceptance
$26,052
3-year cost gap
8
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAppalachian School of LawLiberty UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate60.93%58.76%+2.2
Median LSAT146154−8
Median GPA3.23.54−0
Annual tuition$41,000$43,150−2,150
3-year total cost$248,400$222,348+26,052
Median grant / year$10,250$24,000−13,750
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size92141−49
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill91.3%97.9%−6.6
Bar pass (1st time)54.8%85.3%−30.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Liberty University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAppalachian School of LawLiberty UniversityGap
Median grant / year$10,250$24,000−13,750in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)54.8%85.3%−30.5
First-year class size92141−49
3-year total cost$248,400$222,348+26,052in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Appalachian School of LawLiberty University
Annual tuition$41,000$43,150
3-year total cost$248,400$222,348
Median grant / year$10,250$24,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAppalachian School of LawLiberty University
First-time bar passage54.8%85.3%
Offer yield18.8%37.4%
Class fill91.3%97.9%
Students enrolled84138
First-year class size92141

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Appalachian School of LawLiberty University
Admissions dataAll Appalachian School of Law admissions dataAll Liberty University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Liberty University pairings, and other alternatives to Appalachian School of Law.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Appalachian School of Law vs Liberty University?

Appalachian School of Law admitted 60.93% of applicants while Liberty University admitted 58.76%.

Which is cheaper, Appalachian School of Law or Liberty University?

Over three years, Liberty University costs $26,052 less. Appalachian School of Law runs $248,400 and Liberty University runs $222,348, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Appalachian School of Law or Liberty University?

Appalachian School of Law reports a median grant of $10,250 per year for full-time students, compared with $24,000 at Liberty University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Appalachian School of Law and Liberty University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.