Home / Compare / American University vs Howard University

American University vs Howard University

American University Law School · Washington, DC  |  Howard University Law School · Washington, DC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Washington — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

33.3%
American University acceptance
24.1%
Howard University acceptance
$55,809
3-year cost gap
6
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAmerican UniversityHoward UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate33.28%24.05%+9.2
Median LSAT162156+6
Median GPA3.633.63identical
Annual tuition$66,990$39,780+27,210
3-year total cost$294,798$238,989+55,809
Median grant / year$40,000$23,657+16,343
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size405176+229
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.8%96.6%+2.2
Bar pass (1st time)86.6%78.0%+8.6

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Howard University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAmerican UniversityHoward UniversityGap
First-year class size405176+229
Median grant / year$40,000$23,657+16,343in dollars
Annual tuition$66,990$39,780+27,210in dollars
Acceptance rate33.28%24.05%+9.2percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)American UniversityHoward University
Annual tuition$66,990$39,780
3-year total cost$294,798$238,989
Median grant / year$40,000$23,657
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAmerican UniversityHoward University
First-time bar passage86.6%78.0%
Offer yield20.2%29.1%
Class fill98.8%96.6%
Students enrolled400170
First-year class size405176

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

American UniversityHoward University
Admissions dataAll American University admissions dataAll Howard University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Howard University pairings, and other alternatives to American University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at American University vs Howard University?

American University admitted 33.28% of applicants while Howard University admitted 24.05%.

Which is cheaper, American University or Howard University?

Over three years, Howard University costs $55,809 less. American University runs $294,798 and Howard University runs $238,989, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, American University or Howard University?

American University reports a median grant of $40,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $23,657 at Howard University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for American University Law School and Howard University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.