Home / Compare / American University vs Catholic University of America, The

American University vs Catholic University of America, The

American University Law School · Washington, DC  |  Catholic University of America, The Law School · Washington, DC

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city · same state, similar selectivity in Washington — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

33.3%
American University acceptance
32.4%
Catholic University of America, The acceptance
$23,454
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAmerican UniversityCatholic University of America, TheDifference
Acceptance rate33.28%32.40%+0.9
Median LSAT162161+1
Median GPA3.633.68−0
Annual tuition$66,990$61,580+5,410
3-year total cost$294,798$271,344+23,454
Median grant / year$40,000$26,000+14,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size405182+223
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.8%98.4%+0.4
Bar pass (1st time)86.6%90.4%−3.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Catholic University of America, The's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAmerican UniversityCatholic University of America, TheGap
First-year class size405182+223
Median grant / year$40,000$26,000+14,000in dollars
Annual tuition$66,990$61,580+5,410in dollars
3-year total cost$294,798$271,344+23,454in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)American UniversityCatholic University of America, The
Annual tuition$66,990$61,580
3-year total cost$294,798$271,344
Median grant / year$40,000$26,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAmerican UniversityCatholic University of America, The
First-time bar passage86.6%90.4%
Offer yield20.2%29.6%
Class fill98.8%98.4%
Students enrolled400179
First-year class size405182

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

American UniversityCatholic University of America, The
Admissions dataAll American University admissions dataAll Catholic University of America, The admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Catholic University of America, The pairings, and other alternatives to American University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at American University vs Catholic University of America, The?

American University admitted 33.28% of applicants while Catholic University of America, The admitted 32.40%.

Which is cheaper, American University or Catholic University of America, The?

Over three years, Catholic University of America, The costs $23,454 less. American University runs $294,798 and Catholic University of America, The runs $271,344, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, American University or Catholic University of America, The?

American University reports a median grant of $40,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $26,000 at Catholic University of America, The. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for American University Law School and Catholic University of America, The Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.