Home / Compare / Albany Law School vs Hawaii

Albany Law School vs Hawaii

Albany Law School · Albany, NY  |  University of Hawaii Law School · Honolulu, HI

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

One of these schools is the only law school in its state, so there is no local alternative to compare it against. This pairing matches the closest selectivity level found nationwide. The two are not practical alternatives for most applicants — the comparison is here so that every school on this site can be compared with something.

37.5%
Albany Law School acceptance
26.2%
Hawaii acceptance
$122,928
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAlbany Law SchoolHawaiiDifference
Acceptance rate37.45%26.24%+11.2
Median LSAT158158identical
Median GPA3.543.62−0
Annual tuition$63,994$23,304+40,690
3-year total cost$258,234$135,306+122,928
Median grant / year$38,000$7,000+31,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size237140+97
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill94.9%97.9%−2.9
Bar pass (1st time)86.7%77.1%+9.6

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Hawaii's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAlbany Law SchoolHawaiiGap
Median grant / year$38,000$7,000+31,000in dollars
Annual tuition$63,994$23,304+40,690in dollars
3-year total cost$258,234$135,306+122,928in dollars
First-year class size237140+97

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Albany Law SchoolHawaii
Annual tuition$63,994$23,304
3-year total cost$258,234$135,306
Median grant / year$38,000$7,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAlbany Law SchoolHawaii
First-time bar passage86.7%77.1%
Offer yield22.8%31.6%
Class fill94.9%97.9%
Students enrolled225137
First-year class size237140

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Albany Law SchoolHawaii
Admissions dataAll Albany Law School admissions dataAll Hawaii admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Hawaii pairings, and other alternatives to Albany Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Albany Law School vs Hawaii?

Albany Law School admitted 37.45% of applicants while Hawaii admitted 26.24%.

Which is cheaper, Albany Law School or Hawaii?

Over three years, Hawaii costs $122,928 less. Albany Law School runs $258,234 and Hawaii runs $135,306, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Albany Law School or Hawaii?

Albany Law School reports a median grant of $38,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $7,000 at Hawaii. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Albany Law School and University of Hawaii Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.